• Hi, I'm Rohit...
  • Posts
  • How to toggle your inner writers switch (like a ceiling fan switch)?

How to toggle your inner writers switch (like a ceiling fan switch)?

Six days of the week… the first thing I do is wake up and write an email. But I don’t do it on Sundays.

Why?

Because I gotta go for a morning run. BTW, I’m writing this email just after I came back from my run.

Anyway, here’s why I bring this up:

Every sunday when I return home from my run. I sit and crack open my laptop to write a new email. But I don’t feel creative to write. I can’t motivate myself. It's happening to me right now as well.

But finally, I found the reason why.

Here’s why:

I need a fixed time to write.

If I write at 6 am then always write at 6 am. Why? Because my body, mind, and “muse” are in-tuned to turn the writer's switch at that time.

Also, the more I stick with this routine... the more creative I feel.

Last week:

I read the story of a (late writer) Somerset Maugham. He was asked if he wrote on a schedule. OR only when inspiration hit.

“I write only when inspiration strikes,” he replied. “Fortunately it strikes every morning at nine o’clock sharp.”

You see?

The exact time of the day you write is precious.

Stick with it.

Try to write at the same time daily.

This way you can toggle your writers switch (just like a ceiling fan switch) so you can enjoy the creative blow of air.

Speaking of time:

If you don't have physical (and mental) time to go through the rigorous process of writing emails, sales letters, and other ad copy, then get a hired gun below:

Rohit Arjel